Medicaid and CHIP Renewal Information (2024)

All Medicaid and CHIP recipients need to complete an annual renewal to determine if they are eligible for coverage. Lehigh Valley Health Network has compiled answers to frequently asked questions below.Para español, haga clic aquí..للغة العربية ، انقر هنا

The information on this webpage was taken directly from the Pennsylvania Department of Human Services (DHS)’s website. To access additional resources,click here.

Lehigh Valley Health Network (LVHN) is dedicated to helping our community understand changes to laws that can impact their health insurance coverage.

If you or a loved one gets Medical Assistance (MA), also known as Medicaid, or Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) coverage through the state of Pennsylvania, it’s important to know that continuous coverage for these programs ended on Saturday, April 1, 2023.

This means that all MA and CHIP recipients must complete an annual renewal to see if they are still eligible for coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

To help you understand the reason for this change and the steps you should take, we’ve compiled a list of frequently asked questions from the DHS website.

In March 2020, the federal government allowed states to keep Medicaid and CHIP coverage open regardless of eligibility as part of COVID-19 pandemic relief. Pennsylvania continued to send annual renewal packets during this time, but most people did not lose coverage for changes in income or for not completing their renewal.

A federal law passed in December 2022 ended continuous coverage on April 1, 2023. Going forward, DHS must end MA and/or CHIP coverage if a person does not complete their renewal or if they have income or other changes that make them ineligible for MA or CHIP at the time of their renewal.

Renewals will take place over the next 12 months, and no one will be disenrolled without having a chance to complete a renewal.

You will get a renewal packet in the mail when it is time to renew your MA. You will start to receive information in the mail about your renewal 90 days before it is due.

It is very important that you complete and return the renewal forms. Please complete your renewal if you know your case has changed OR if nothing has changed. By completing your renewal, DHS can keep your MA or CHIP coverage open or connect you to other affordable health coverage options if you no longer qualify. There are four ways you can complete and submit your renewal:

  • By mail: Complete and return the forms by mailing them back in the provided envelope.
  • Online: Complete your renewal online in COMPASS.
  • Telephone: Call 1-866-550-4355 to talk to a customer service representative.
  • In person: Complete and submit your renewal in person at any local county assistance office.

Completing your renewal will help DHS determine if you are still eligible for MA. If you are still eligible, your MA coverage will continue.

Everyone's renewal date is different. You will start to get information about your renewal about 90 days before your renewal is due. You can opt in to receive text messages from DHS. They will text you when your renewal packet is mailed, and you will also receive other important alerts and reminders about your benefits.

If you receive a renewal packet, you must complete it by the due date listed on the packet or your MA or CHIP coverage could stop. If you are no longer eligible or you do not return your packet, you will receive a notice in the mail telling you when your coverage is scheduled to end.

Not all renewals were sent on April 1, 2023. The process of doing everyone's renewals will take 12 months, so be on the lookout for your packet when it is your turn to renew your coverage. If you sign up for alerts, DHS can send you a text message when your renewal is mailed.

If you do not return your renewal, DHS will have to end your coverage. If that happens, you can reapply for MA and/or CHIP at any time. You may also get information about coverage available through Pennie®, Pennsylvania's official health and dental coverage marketplace, if it is an option for you.

There are a few ways for you to complete your renewal:

  • You can complete the forms DHS sends you and mail them back in the envelope included in the packet.
  • You can drop your completed forms off at your localCounty Assistance Office.
  • You can complete your renewal on theCOMPASS website.
  • You can complete your renewal by phone by calling 1-866-550-4355.

If your renewal shows that you are no longer eligible for MA, there are options for you to stay covered. If you are not eligible for MA and are age 19 or older, DHS will send the information you gave them toPennie. Pennie can help you review your coverage options and learn about financial assistance that may be available to help you pay for your coverage. DHS will send you a letter telling you that they have sent your information to Pennie.

Children who are under 19 and not eligible for MA will be directly connected to CHIP and parents will learn more about coverage.

If you believe DHS made a mistake when they conducted your renewal and found you ineligible for MA, you can appeal that decision. Directions for how to appeal are on the notice you get from DHS. You can also provide DHS with information that you did not give them in your renewal, and they can check to see if that changes your eligibility.

Financial Services and Social Work Support Available Through LVHN

LVHN's patient financial services team has partnered with Physician and Tactical Healthcare Services (PATHS) to set up a dedicated call center regarding Medicaid and CHIP renewals. If you have questions about how these changes may affect your coverage, you can reach this resource by calling 833-226-5921. You can also contact LVHN’s social work services team for assistance with your renewal paperwork and navigating all insurance options at 484‐862‐3510.

Medicaid and CHIP Renewal Information (2024)


How often do you renew Medicaid in Texas? ›

All Medicaid members must submit a renewal application every 12 months to continue receiving benefits. If you are receiving Texas Medicaid benefits, please respond promptly to requests from Texas Health and Human Services (HHSC) to avoid a lapse in your coverage.

Does Medicaid automatically renew NYC? ›

No, you will have to renew your insurance again. Because of federal law and other flexibilities during the pandemic, HRA was able to keep you enrolled in Medicaid without needing you to renew your insurance. However, federal law has changed, and as of Spring 2023 clients need to renew their Medicaid again each year.

Does Medicaid automatically renew in Illinois? ›

When it's your time for renewal, the Department of Healthcare and Family Services will be sending you a letter with details. Or you can automatically renew at that point if you're signed up with Manage My Case. If it is time for you to renew, please don't delay.

How often do you have to renew Ohio Medicaid? ›

Your Medicaid benefits will need to be renewed annually and you will be notified when it is time to renew. Click here for more information about the renewal process.

How do I check my Medicaid status in Texas? ›

1) Go to the 2) Select Eligibility Quick Check from the Resources drop-down menu. 3) You must complete two of the following fields: Patient Control Number (PCN), also known as the Medicaid number, Date of Birth (DOB), Social Security Number (SSN), or Last Name.

What are the rules for Medicaid in Texas? ›

To be eligible for Texas Medicaid, you must be a resident of the state of Texas, a U.S. national, citizen, permanent resident, or legal alien, in need of health care/insurance assistance, whose financial situation would be characterized as low income or very low income.

Is Medicare renewal automatic? ›

In most cases, Medicare re-enrollment is automatic so you only have to enroll in Medicare once. After you're enrolled in Medicare, your coverage will continue unless you decide to make changes. Original Medicare, Medicare Advantage plans, Part D plans and Medigap plans all automatically renew.

Do you have to pay back Medicaid in Illinois? ›

For those who received assistance through the Aid to the Aged, Blind or Disabled (AABD) program, the state of Illinois has the obligation to ask for money back from their estate after they pass away.

Is my il Medicaid active? ›

If you aren't sure if your Medicaid coverage has been approved yet or if it is still active, you can check Manage My Case or call the state's Automated Voice Recognition System (AVRS) at 1-855-828-4995 with your Recipient Identification Number (RIN).

Does Maryland Medicaid automatically renew? ›

Maryland Medicaid Renewal is NOT automatic.​

These renewals will take place over 12 months.

Does NC Medicaid automatically renew? ›

You need to renew your NC Medicaid eligibility each year. We don't want you or your family to lose their benefits, so be sure to renew on time. Recertification takes place every 6 or 12 months based on your Medicaid program.

Does Medicaid automatically renew in Colorado? ›

The renewal process checks to see if you still qualify for Health First Colorado or CHP+. Some members will be automatically renewed based on information we have. Other members will need to go through the renewal process. You will get a packet in the mail or in your PEAK mailbox several weeks before your renewal date.

How long is Medicaid in Texas? ›

This allowed Texas to provide you with continuous Medicaid coverage. 2. When will continuous coverage for Medicaid end? Based on new federal law, continuous Medicaid coverage ended on March 31, 2023.

What is the Medicaid look back period in Texas? ›

The state will look back for five years to determine if you have transferred assets (including transfers made by your spouse). Thus, you need to begin planning for Medicaid long before you may require long-term care. The five-year look-back period begins on the date you apply for long-term care under Medicaid.

How long do you have to report income changes to Medicaid Texas? ›

All Programs

After the interview, the household must report changes listed in B-621, What to Report, within 10 days after the household knows about the change.

Does Medicaid stop when you turn 18 in Texas? ›

To get Medicaid or CHIP, a child must be age 18 and younger (in some cases children with disabilities age 19 and 20 can get Medicaid).

Top Articles
Latest Posts
Article information

Author: Jerrold Considine

Last Updated:

Views: 6035

Rating: 4.8 / 5 (78 voted)

Reviews: 85% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Jerrold Considine

Birthday: 1993-11-03

Address: Suite 447 3463 Marybelle Circles, New Marlin, AL 20765

Phone: +5816749283868

Job: Sales Executive

Hobby: Air sports, Sand art, Electronics, LARPing, Baseball, Book restoration, Puzzles

Introduction: My name is Jerrold Considine, I am a combative, cheerful, encouraging, happy, enthusiastic, funny, kind person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.